Songs for John Zappa, R.I.P. (1971-2008)

Hey John,

I hear you passed to heaven on September 14th. It was nice knowing ya, man. As Rebecca and I sit here on my back porch I can’t help thinking that you would’ve been so proud of me, outstanding cook that you were. I fixed up a nice pork loin (one of your favorites) with roasted potatoes, carrots, and onions. Magnifique!

I mean damn, all the shit you did! Surviving Desert Storm, getting kicked out of the Marines, surviving years in jail, bringing smiles to all of those faces… Man you lived all out. You couldn’t have had it any other way, Woodstock, Illinois boy that you were.

Well, as we’re sitting here pourin’ out a little wine for you, we played a few songs to bring back that Zappa spirit:

You always had good taste in music. Other things???…Well, let’s just say that manic streak drug you down a bunch. You should’ve just pulled over the car, but what’s done is done.

“Pulled Over the Car” – Morphine:

On a more upbeat vibe, we still see ya baby, shaking that ass.

“I See You, Baby” (Fatboy Slim remix) – Groove Armada:

And for a final goodbye for now—at least from this spiritual divide—here’s one I know you realize completely now.

“Do You Realize??” – The Flaming Lips:

And Rebecca reminded me of an encore. I know you wouldn’t be satisfied without one. I never did get sore at you for holding on to my John Lennon Legend compilation for years. I knew it was in good hands and doing you well. A sadly anticlimactic hit from 1974, “Mind Games” – John Lennon. If only you’d made more love and less war with yourself. I will always miss what we could have still done together. I love ya, man.

Leave a Reply

